This page looks at settlement compensation and jury payouts in personal injury lawsuits in Kansas. Our lawyers also review personal injury law in Kansas
If you are a personal injury victim bringing a compensation claim in Kansas, you want to know the law governing your claim. But the first thing you want to know is how much money you will get in a settlement or from a jury. We cannot tell you how much your personal injury case is worth. But we can help you better understand the possible range of settlement payouts for your claim. Why is this important? Because money compensation is what wrongful death or personal injury is really about. The civil justice system cannot make the accident go away. It can only compensate you monetarily for your loss.
Kansas Personal Injury Verdicts and Settlements
- 2023, Kansas: $600,000 Settlement. A heart transplant nurse was rear-ended while stopped at a red light by a man with a BAC of .117. The plaintiff suffered a deviated septum that was surgically repaired and a broken rib, as well as post-traumatic stress disorder for which she continues to receive treatment from a psychiatrist.
- 2021, Kansas: $146,416 Verdict. A woman was rear-ended. She suffered neck and back injuries. The woman alleged negligence against the at-fault driver. She claimed she tailgated her, excessively sped, and failed to maintain an appropriate lookout. The jury awarded her $146,416.
- 2021, Kansas: $119,211 Verdict. A woman was rear-ended. She suffered cervical trauma, a myofascial spinal injury, cervical inflammation, and a concussion. The woman developed hand paresthesia and post-concussion syndrome. The woman alleged negligence against the at-fault driver. She claimed she drove inattentively and tailgated her. The jury awarded $119,211.
- 2021, Kansas: $10,064 Verdict. A man was T-boned. He injured his neck, back, and hip. The man alleged negligence against the at-fault driver. He claimed she ran a stop sign and failed to maintain an appropriate lookout. The jury awarded $10,064.
- 2021, Kansas: $126,306 Verdict. A man was rear-ended. He suffered severe injuries. The man alleged negligence against the at-fault driver. He claimed she failed to maintain an appropriate lookout and timely brake. The man received a $126,306 verdict.
- 2020, Kansas: $87,463 Verdict. A woman was struck in a parking lot. She injured her neck and left shoulder. The woman alleged negligence against the at-fault driver. She claimed he drove inattentively and failed to control his vehicle. The woman also made a UIM claim against Allstate. She received an $87,463 verdict.
- 2019, Kansas: $300,000 Settlement. A 17-year-old boy was struck by a truck. He suffered thoracic fractures, a fractured left hip, a right pneumothorax, and a subdural hematoma. The boy’s parents alleged negligence against the truck driver. They claimed he failed to maintain an appropriate lookout and safely operate his vehicle. This case settled for $300,000.
Kansas Personal Injury Law
Below are some of the important Kansas personal injury laws that will help you better understand the legal framework for your injury or wrongful death claims.
Kansas Personal Injury Statute of Limitations
In Kansas, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases is two years. This means that a person must file a lawsuit within two years from the date of the injury or from the date the injury was discovered. If the lawsuit is not filed within this two-year period, the person may lose the right to pursue legal action. But don’t rely on what you read online and assuming that is the statute of limitations for your case. Your deadline to provide file a lawsuit or provide notice of an intention to file a lawsuit can vary depending on the specific circumstances of the case and the type of injury.
Kansas Sex Abuse Statute of Limitations
In April 2023, Governor Laura Kelly of Kansas has signed a bill into law that permits survivors of child sexual abuse to file civil lawsuits against their abusers and institutions that enabled the conduct until they are 31 years old or three years after a criminal conviction. The law also removes the statute of limitations for criminal prosecution of child sex offenders entirely. The new law provides a 13-year period after a survivor’s 18th birthday to file a civil lawsuit. Unlike laws in other states, like Maryland, that have passed a new sex abuse statute of limitation this year, there is no “limitations window” for victims whose statute of limitations has already passed to file lawsuits.
Kansas Auto Accident Law Is Traditional
Kansas is an at-fault state. So it follows classic negligence law. The person who caused the accident – or more likely the person’s insurance company – is responsible for paying any damages that result. In order to recover damages in a personal injury lawsuit in Kansas, the plaintiff must prove that the defendant was at fault for the accident.
Medical Malpractice Pain and Suffering Damages Cap in Kansas
In Kansas, there is a damage cap for certain types of personal injury cases. The state has established a $350,000 cap on noneconomic damages in medical malpractice cases. This is one of the lowest malpractice caps in the country and it has a real chilling effect on the number of malpractice lawsuits in Kansas. Because the maximum amount of compensation that can be awarded for pain and suffering, emotional distress, loss of enjoyment of life, and similar non-monetary losses is only $350,000. This cap applies to cases involving medical malpractice, but not to other types of personal injury cases. There are also no caps on economic damages, such as medical expenses and lost wages, in Kansas.
Hiring a Personal Injury Lawyer in Kansas
Our firm handles serious injury and wrongful death lawsuits in Kansas. We are not in Kansas. We work with trust trusted colleagues in Kansas who work with us on your claim. We compensate our Ohio lawyers out of our attorneys’ fees. You pay no additional contingency fees for having two law firms instead of one. You only owe us a fee if you get settlement compensation or a jury payout.
If you were hurt and believe you have a potential civil tort claim, click here for a free no-obligation consultation or call us today at 800-553-8082.