On July 1st, California will ban drivers using a handheld wireless telephone while driving a motor vehicle. Of course, you can still text message while driving.
No, I cannot explain it. You could drive a truck through the flawed logic of the new California cell phone laws. There are no teeth to the new law either. Violators of the new law are subject to a fine of $20 for the first offense and not more than $50 for each subsequent offense. No points on your license either. But I still think California is making a step in the right direction.